Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: 3.4L/3400 Hybrid Build

3.4L/3400 Hybrid Build

Hey everyone!
    I'm a long time lurker on almost every v6-fbody site and I'm looking for some help with a new build. I've read a lot of threads about the 3x00 hybrid builds and I have some questions that I'm hoping you guys can help with. KoolCamaro, you did the 3500 top end swap if I remember correctly. I don't want to have to megasquirt at all and I have no experience with tuning at all and was wondering if there was any combination or swap where tuning wasn't involved. If I remember correctly Russ said that he did the 3400 top end swap and didn't need to tune at all? Can anyone else confirm this? From what I've gathered, I'd need 3400 heads, 3400 upper and lower intake manifolds, the 3400 fuel rails, 3400 injectors, and the water neck? What is the water neck? If anyone can help me out with this and kind of provide me with some answers or a kind of walk-through type deal? Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Johnny

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

You'd also need 3400 pistons or else compression will be ridiculously high.

The 3500 heads allow you to keep the 3.4 pistons.
    No matter what you do however, you wont get all the potential gain without tuning.

Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk

98 Maro
    5spd, Slp lid, Free ram air, Pacesetters, !egr, Slowmaster Cat-back, Founders Lcas, Founders relo brackets, 32mm front sway bar, 19mm rear sway bar, poly trans mount..
    Much nicer, better, cleaner, and most importantly faster than the old one

Light Throttle
    A top-swap might run without tuning, but you will need to tune to get the most out of the parts. The bigger 3400 injectors will also probably cause a rich idle without tuning even if they fuel properly under load.

3.4 pistons with 3400 heads comes out somewhere between 12:1 and 13:1 IIRC. 3.4 pistons with 3500 heads comes out around 12:1 I think, maybe slightly lower