+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: L67 to RWD

L67 to RWD

Newbie here, need some help with tranny selection on a RWD conversion. I have a 3800 II SC L67 form a 2000 Grand Prix and I need to get it lashed up to an auto or stick for a hot rod project. I've been told some of the other GM V6's can be used, but have no idea from which years. Will the trannys from the last runs of Camaros or Firebirds work? I know my motor is a 60 degree engine, but not all V-6 stuff will work, eh? Can anyone point me to an old thread here on this forum or a link to a DEFINITIVE chart or list of suitable donor cars? Just about any small sized autos or manuals will work for me, including anything super new.
    Also looking for any aftermarket wiring kits that will make this a stand alone project. I have all the OEM looms from my donor car, but prefer to reduce the mass of wires if I can.

Thanx in advance as they say. Gary

PS... project car is a "Phantom" 27 Ford pickup cab that I just got. It will have a bed in a few weeks and the whole deal is planned to weigh only 2000 lbs. The L67 will be stock, that will be more than enough, eh? Here is a mock-up photo or two.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Contributing Sponsor
    Your engine is a 90*, but uses the GM "Small Corperate Pattern" AKA "Metric Pattern".

You would be best suited using a transmission from a 3800 Fbody the same year as the ECM.

Are you going to be tuning/tweaking it?

Welcome to the site

John,
    90 degrees? Jeez, everyone has been telling me 60. Sure is small for a 90. Anyway... other than the same year Camaro / Firebird, any other "metric" trannys work? Thanx, Gary