Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Is there any type of line test you can do from your home computer

  1. #1
    Want my buffet? 95bat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,902

    Is there any type of line test you can do from your home computer

    AT&T now offers "High Speed Elite" internet which goes up to 6.0MBit downloads and 768 uploads. When I ordered my 3.0MBit internet I had one hell of a time getting them to fix it because I was not getting the advertised speed. They came to the conclusion that the line would not handle it, would NOT repair it, and I was screwed. I was finally able to talk to somebody who "pushed the speed through" and now I have like 2.4MBit downloads. 2.4MBit of the advertised 3.0Mbit is pretty good, so I want to upgrade and get like 5.5MBit out of their 6.0MBit cap

    I called them to test the line to see if it would handle the speed before I ordered and spent a good 15-20 minutes getting the run around from their tech support department. The guy wouldn't test the line and wouldn't let me talk to anybody else who had the authority to test the line. He basically said once I order the Elite internet, THEN they'd test the line, but a lot of good it does me then since, considering my past problems, I'll be paying like $6 more a month and getting the same speed. I told him my lines had trouble last time and AT&T would NOT repair the line to give me my advertised speed. Of course, he "assured me" that they would fix the line if I did not get 3.0MBit. I told him "I'm not going to pay the extra money to get 3.0MBit when I'm getting so close to that speed now. I want to get the line tested so I know what speed I'll get before I order". but of course, he wouldn't do it.

    So, can I test my phone lines from my house? Looks like AT&T won't do it for me.
    2013 Lexus GS350 F Sport | 2009 G8 GT (traded) | 1995 3.4L Firebird (sold)

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Full Throttle Extreme! Grimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23,889
    surely there are independent companies that can test the line.

    /doesn't know for sure
    99 Firebird - ls1 swapped
    00 s-10 - 4.3 waiting to explode
    96 f150 - 4.9 already asploded

  4. #3
    moderator emeritus ...rallyred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    hotels & airplanes
    Posts
    11,445
    there was a flash site around for a hot minute advertising exactly that... download speeds to different cities in the US... can't remember the title though
    Ben | Super Mod
    richmondperformancemusclecars
    Quote Originally Posted by Malice View Post
    I really think you should use your $200 for grammar lessons. You've made "an decision". Aren't you embarrassed by that?


  5. #4
    moderator emeritus ...rallyred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    hotels & airplanes
    Posts
    11,445
    Ben | Super Mod
    richmondperformancemusclecars
    Quote Originally Posted by Malice View Post
    I really think you should use your $200 for grammar lessons. You've made "an decision". Aren't you embarrassed by that?


  6. #5
    Full Throttle Extreme! FloydSummerOf68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas, USA
    Posts
    24,012
    Cool...my DSL is at 1.65 meg...good enough for me
    Shawn
    '11 CTS-V Coupe
    '12 SRT8 Charger
    V6 Firebird - 12.2 on 100 shot and 13.5 Cam only - GONE

  7. #6
    Full Throttle Extreme!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    1,016
    wow you guys are running kinda slow

    I have 15mps download and 5 upload...cox communications hell yes
    2002 Z06 Corvette - Pfadt Coilovers, Pfadt Rear Sway Bar, Pfadt Polyurethane Bushings, Nitto NT05s, Headers, CAI, Tune, MGW shifter 386RWHP
    2002 Firebird - Headers, CAI, Tune, 3.73 LSD - SOLD!

  8. #7
    Moderator crasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Valdosta, GA
    Posts
    2,452
    Josh sounds to me like your running DSL, its nice and all so long you are with in say like a mile of the DSL office. After then the speed capabilites drop off dramticly every 100 feet or so. I don't know the actual distance to capable speed ratio but find out how far away you are from the DSL office and that will tell you alot as to why your only getting that much speed. Its either that or the phone lines in your area are too old and can't take the load that DSL puts on them.
    Gary | 60 V6 mod
    1994 3.4 Black Camaro : Bought May 26, 2001
    ___________________

  9. #8
    It moves !!!!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Posts
    13,848
    if you get ~80% of the posted your good and they wont do shit..... if you get 90% your getting GREAT sevice

    www.dslreports.com
    www.turbov6camaro.com
    1997 3800 Series II Camaro
    4600 Stall for my ride to the mall
    [email protected] 1/8 -1.8x sixty
    [email protected] unk 1/4 - 7.197 1/8 - 1.83 sixty
    Call me Viper

  10. #9
    Hawkeyes 97blazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Iowa City, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    2,951
    my download speed is 25kilobits per second
    and my upload came back as -2kilobits per second
    -Ryan

  11. #10
    It moves !!!!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St Louis, Mo
    Posts
    13,848
    Quote Originally Posted by 97blazer
    my download speed is 25kilobits per second
    and my upload came back as -2kilobits per second
    www.turbov6camaro.com
    1997 3800 Series II Camaro
    4600 Stall for my ride to the mall
    [email protected] 1/8 -1.8x sixty
    [email protected] unk 1/4 - 7.197 1/8 - 1.83 sixty
    Call me Viper

  12. #11
    Hawkeyes 97blazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Iowa City, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    2,951
    i know thats what i get for using aol dial up
    -Ryan

  13. #12
    Lights Up Crew #1 Amagine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    KY
    Posts
    2,886
    http://www.z99.com/files/u21/lightsaber.jpg

  14. #13
    Want my buffet? 95bat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,902
    I don't want a bandwidth test... I want to know the maximum speed available for my line.
    2013 Lexus GS350 F Sport | 2009 G8 GT (traded) | 1995 3.4L Firebird (sold)

  15. #14
    Full Throttle Extreme! Grimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23,889
    "High Speed" Satellite internet sucks big hairy wookie balls.

    DL Speed: 617kbps
    UL Speed: I can't get it past my damned firewall. It's not even running anymore.
    99 Firebird - ls1 swapped
    00 s-10 - 4.3 waiting to explode
    96 f150 - 4.9 already asploded

  16. #15
    Lights Up Crew #1 Amagine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    KY
    Posts
    2,886
    btw I'm pumping 5.5 out and 6 in course that doesn't mean squat for the fact its coming across a T1 WIC connection to my router in my room
    http://www.z99.com/files/u21/lightsaber.jpg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •